Vancouver Island Yacht Charters

Vancouver Island Yacht Charters

Toll Free 1.877.754.8601 Phone No

Yacht Charter Testimonials

Why charter with us? – read reviews from our past  (and repeat!)  charter guests………….

 Ian and Lorraine

We wish to thank you, and the members of your staff at Nanaimo Yacht Charters, for another splendid time we had on one of your chartered yachts.  Our experience this year on the Beneteau 45 for three weeks was every bit as good as the two weeks we spent aboard the Beneteau 50 two years ago.  The boat is well equipped and was in perfect working order.  Your service in our preparing for the charter and the assistance we were given both when we boarded and when we returned was first rate.

We travelled south this year as far as Victoria stopping at a variety of our favorite spots throughout the Gulf Islands where we have cruised for over 40 years.  We never tire of their beauty.  We were also in American waters visiting Roche Harbour and Friday Harbour in particular.  We crossed the Strait of Georgia to Vancouver under full sail in a steady strong breeze at hull speed all the way and then spent some time in Howe Sound before crossing back to finish at Nanaimo.

The 45, like the 50, is an excellent cruising yacht.  Given these boats are complete with all the amenities, they handle very well indeed.  We have now been rather spoiled by the bow thruster on the 45 for docking not to mention the power winches that made sail handling very easy particularly for the days there were only two of us on board.  We found everything to be in its place and encountered no difficulties in operating anything from the microwave oven to the barbeque.

We have had the opportunity to charter many yachts in different parts of the world and can say chartering from Nanaimo Yacht Charters is on par with the best we have experienced.  We are looking forward to chartering from you again next year and in the interim would not hesitate to recommend NYC to anyone interested in chartering a well maintained yacht for sailing in some of the best cruising waters there are anywhere.

The Lowrys – July 2016

Dear Ian, Shari, Lorraine and Sarah,

Thanks so much for facilitating a trip of a lifetime.  The 10-day trip that my son and I took was outstanding.  The Beneteau 393 was pristine (like new) and everything was in full working order.  The boat sails nicely to wind and had nominal, if any, weather helm.

The scenery was spectacular and we had only 10 minutes of rain the entire time.  Killer whales came right up to the boat and we saw more waterfalls, seals and bald eagles than we could count.  We also spent two nights at the prime downtown Vancouver marina at Coal Harbor.  We rented bikes at a store adjacent to the marina and rode all over the city on mostly dedicated bike paths.  What a great city and awesome urban adventure to compliment the wilderness portion of the trip in the northern Gulf Islands and up Jervis Inlet.

Web Bingham – June 2015, “Oasis”
(Beneteau 393)

 Nanaimo Yacht Charter Testimonials & company reviews, our guests have said about their sailing.  The Beneteau 393 was pristine (like new) and everything was in full working order.  The boat and we saw more waterfalls, seals and bald eagles than we could count.

We chartered Nuestro Casa from September 8th. to 17th. to sail to Desolation Sound.

The hand over went very smoothly with Shari welcoming us and Ian getting us oriented with the trip planning. We particularly appreciated Ian’s suggestions for moorages. His knowledge of the local area and our route up to Desolation Sound was of great help and added greatly to our sailing experience.

They were professional, knowledgeable, concerned and pleasant.

The Hunter 33 boat – Nuestro Casa was very clean and tidy and felt homey when we boarded. All we had to do, was to unpack.
The boat was easy to handle and very responsive.

It was well maintained and all systems were working well.

It was very comforting to know that we could phone Ian on a 24 hour basis for any questions which might occur during our voyage. Desolation Sound was gorgeous, particularly this time of year. It was very quiet and we saw whales, gorgeous sunsets and had our anchorages almost to ourselves.

Chris Selenz & Suzanne Hamilton – September 2013, “Nuestro Casa”
(Hunter 33)

 The Hunter 33 boat - Nuestro Casa was very clean and tidy and felt homey when we boarded. The local area and our route up to Desolation Sound was of great Enjoy gorgeous sunsets and had our anchorages almost to ourselves

Ian and Shari,

Here are a few pix from our great trip up Jervis Inlet.  Ocean Pearl was truly a pearl, and we saw amazing things.  Thanks for your great service and for making it all so easy.  We had a wonderful cruise.

Cheers,
Claude and Zan – Seattle – September 2013, “Ocean Pearl”
(Bayliner 3888)

Enjoy chartering on holiday around Nanaimo Island chartering with you in the near future and it is not the last that you have seen of me Cruising Vancouver on a Bayliner 3888

Dear Ian and Shari – I just want to thank you for making our charter so very pleasant and enjoyable. We had so many apprehensions before the start of the holiday but one meeting with you and I was at ease. I also want to say a special thank you to Shari – She was so helpful – whether it was taking us to the food mart or helping us to get our phones sorted out.

I definitely plan on chartering with you in the near future and it is not the last that you have seen of me. – with warm regards – Derick

Dr Derick Delima   – India – August 2013, “Skookum Chuck”
(Beneteau 40)

Nanaimo Yacht Charters making our charter so very pleasant and enjoyable. Chartering with you in the near future and it is not the last that you have seen  Chartering a yacht around Nanaimo Island

Hi Shari and NYC Team!

Just a short note of appreciation to you, Ian, and the NYC team for your brilliant attention to all details of our sail charter. It goes without saying too much that our sail cruise was all that it could be while sailing in the Southern Gulf Islands, but what made it exceptional was NYC’s complete mastery of all appointments regarding the boat and attention to all detail as it supported and contributed to making our itinerary the great adventure that it turned out to be.

Besides the expected spectacular BC Coast sights and sounds, we became enamoured with another new BC dimension for us, namely imaginative boat names. Ones that stood out and gave us a chuckle were…Kiss My Aft, Ship Disturber and Somewhere It Is 5 O’clock.

Already dreaming about future plans
Alexander, Allegra, Margot and Kurt (Toronto, ON) – August 2013, “Kala Kala”

(Beneteau 331)

it was wonderful was able to come at last minute and skipper the boat home.  being absolutely amazing and flexible with our charter. Beneteau 331 - she is a great boat, just perfect for us.

I must thank you all for being absolutely amazing and flexible with our charter. My back improved enough that I was able to fly in to Lyall harbor on the Wednesday to join Simon and Charlie. Simon and Charlie got to spend some time alone on the boat which was an unexpected upside.

And it was wonderful that Paul was able to come at last minute and skipper the boat home. With my dodgy back, I could not have managed alone with Charlie. Paul was great to have aboard – he was brilliant with Charlie, who learned more in two days with Paul than two weeks with us! And I got a refresher course to boot. Plus we had beautiful weather, good wind, a Montague Harbour sunset and spectacular whale watching.

Please extend my thanks and good wishes to everyone there – Ian, Paul and Sarah who I spoke to by telephone. I attach a photo of Desiderata III at Matia Island in the San Juans – a lovely spot. We loved Desiderata, she is a great boat, just perfect for us.

And see you in 2015! All the best to you and thanks again,
Kat – August 2013, “Desiderata”
(Catalina 36)

Coastal Navigation course and arrived in Nanaimo excited and enthusiastic.

It’s been a life-long dream of mine to learn to sail a bigger boat and after much research I decided on Nanaimo Yacht Charters. It was probably the best decision I have made in years. My crew weren’t sure that sailing was their thing so we compromised and booked the Basic & Intermediate Power Boating Course on their Bayliner 3288 for April.

We did all the book work along with our Coastal Navigation course and arrived in Nanaimo excited and enthusiastic. What a fantastic trip and a great introduction to boat handling and being on the water. From the moment we were met at the airport to saying a sad farewell, it was the perfect experience; instructor Tim Melville was everything we could have wanted and we left feeling tired but confident. We returned in July to join Tim again and do a 7 day cruise and learn on Nanaimo Yacht Charter’s 38 foot Dufour.

The boat was a joy to sail, well equipped and just plain fun and once again we had a fantastic learning experience. After an intense week of learning and some awesome sailing said goodbye to Tim and boarded the Ocean Pearl for a week on our own: our reward for all our hard work. The Pearl was a great boat and we spent our time cruising the Gulf Islands, visiting wineries, searching for fresh oysters and relaxing in beautiful parks.

Everyone we met was friendly and helpful and I can’t say enough about how much people like Tim and Ian did for our confidence and enjoyment. We always felt in control and secure in our abilities. At the end of it all, all I wanted to do was do it all over again: a sure sign of time and money well spent. It was one of the best experiences I have ever had. We will be back next year; now we just need to decide whether we’ll be power boating or sailing. Either way we will definitely chartering from you guys.

Bruce – Edmonton  -April &  July, 2013, “Sun Dance”, “Sante” & “Ocean Pearl”
(Bayliner 3288)
(Dufour 385)
(Bayliner 3888)

Nanaimo and Desolation Sound in a boat belonging to Nanaimo Yacht Charters Relaxing and enjoyable sailing holidays that we had ever taken. Enjoyed such a massive area of sheltered yet fascinating water

We spent 10 days sailing between Nanaimo and Desolation Sound in June of 2013 in a boat belonging to Nanaimo Yacht Charters, and it was one of the most spectacular, relaxing and enjoyable sailing holidays that we had ever taken.

As a couple who have sailed widely around UK, Europe and the Mediterranean, we had never been cruising in an area with such stunning scenery, we had never enjoyed such a massive area of sheltered yet fascinating water, and we had never come across a charter company so willing to help, that provided a boat in such good condition and went to such lengths to make our holiday memorable.

Of course the weather was not universally sunny, but even the dull days were fun and we saw a massive range of wild life – including orcas, eagles and seals. Susie and I can’t thank you enough, and we will certainly be back to explore more of that fabulous, majestic and wild coastline.

Paul Boissier
Vice Admiral Royal Navy – June 2013, “Sante”
(Dufour 385)

Vancouver Island is the best holiday with Wildlife Choose Vancouvher to be your holiday destination Dufour 385 - it was the perfect size for our family

Dear Lorraine, Ian and Shari,

My whole family would also like to thank you for supplying such a lovely boat for our first charter, it was the perfect size for our family, handled and ran beautifully. You also stocked the boat so well, I was impressed to have wine glasses, scissors, sharp knives, measuring cups, clothes pegs, so many pots & pans . . . these things can really make a difference. – Thank you!

We are already looking forward to our next charter trip, hopefully next summer.

Thanks,
Louise Spee – July 2012, “Spirit of the Winds”
(Beneteau 321 Yacht Rental)

Sailboat Charters - Vancouver Island Sailing BC - Vancouver Canada Yacht Charter in Vancouver

 

Dear Shari, Lorraine and Ian,

The reason that we continue to come back, year after year, is that you three are just “flat-out” the best! This year completes our 29th bare boat chartering experience, including such diverse locations as Tonga, Croatia, Australia, Thailand, all Virgins – British, Dutch, Spanish and USA, Turkey, three Greek ‘s – Dodecanese, Cyclades, and Sporades, French and Italian Rivera’s, Corsica, the Northwest’s Gulf Islands, San Juan Islands, Sunshine Coast, and Desolation Sound.

The reason that your relatively new Nanaimo Yacht Charters operation runs circles around Moorings, Sunsail, and the others, is the experience that you three have had running global yacht chartering operations for decades. Ian and Shari pioneered Sunsail’s operations in the Med and Caribbean for years.

While entrepreneur Lorraine built a very successful personnel operation in South Africa for many years. You bring this experience, along with the joy of finally running your own new Company.

I like the fact that you also have the family involved in servicing your clients. Your daughter Beth and her team provided our Beneteau 473 in absolutely mint condition. Ian, personally made sure that all of the electrical and mechanical gear was working to perfection. As a result, our boat handled beautifully during two heavy weather conditions, (25 to 30+ knot winds) unusual for that time of year in Georgia Straits.

Lorraine and Shari’s knowledge of the various marinas, adventure tours, great restaurants, anchorages, and sightseeing opportunities enhanced the pleasure of our sail. Thanks again, dear friend Ian! You’ve always been available to me, real time night or day, to help me solve any small weather or equipment related issues.

You have been a dream companion in the planning and thinking through various float plan alternatives. Our crew member friends loved your suggestion.

We began sailing your beautifully prepared and seaworthy boats July 2003, after Ian opened Sunsail’s Vancouver base. Our migration to your new Nanaimo Yacht Charters, with your team’s legacy of skills and personal service, was one of the most positive things we have ever done. Keep up this great tradition.

Thanks and see you again next year,
Jerry Crowley

Chairman and CEO Treehouse Ltd.
(A Silicon Valley Venture Capital Company) “Belle Serena”
(Beneteau 50)

Nanaimo Sailboat Charter Boat Charters Vancouver Charter Boat in Vancouver

We had a great time and you and your crew made it all the more relaxing. All the “little extras” meant a lot to us, and we’ll be back again! Thanks again for the great charter! Here are some photos of our time in Desolation Sound The one of the prawn trap shows the size of the octopus that we caught (we let it go, didn’t have the appetite for tentacles that day).

Cheers, Tilo & Jeannette -Switzerland, August, 2009

(Hunter 30 Yacht Rental )

Renta Yacht in Nanaimo Vancouver Island Desolation Sound Boat Charter sailing vancouver Island

Hi Shari and Ian and the rest of the Gang,

I am writing to let you know how much we enjoyed the charter experience with you. Belle Serena was in top shape and very well equipped for our cruise in the gulf islands. I have chartered quite a few boats in the past s and must say that this one was the best shape I have ever seen a charter boat in! Kudos for a great job.

Well – and then there are the cruising grounds which are such a difference to the Caribbean, Med or Dutch coasts I have sailed in the past. Thanks Ian for the excellent briefing and valuable tips.

For those who might read this and have not chartered with Nanaimo Yacht Charters, they do not just show you the boat and go through the equipment list and off you go – they actually spend an hour or two to go through your planned cruise outline, something I have never experienced before.

I am sure one of the reasons why the boats are in good shape and return that way. We did a modified version of the proposed 1 week Gulf Islands Itinerary. Skipped the very south, went around Prevost Island and stayed in James Bay – lovely spot. Water is warm enough for swimming and a bit cleaner than Pirates Cove we visited later and which is fabulous for a hike, just like Ian said.

Thanks again, Jochen and the other 9 members of the Koenig family USA and Germany – August 2009, “Belle Serena”

(Beneteau 50 Boat Rental)

Sail boat Rentals - James Bay Vancouver Island Charter - Pirates Cove Vancouver Island Boat Rental - Sunset

Dear Shari Lorraine & Ian –

I want to express how very pleased I am with our recent experience of chartering two yachts from you. At every step of the way you and your team were extremely professional and helpful. The vessels were both in top shape, clean and fresh, and everything worked. The two skippers you provided were great additions to the experience and instantly became part of our family. You can count on us being long time clients and friends. Definitely see you next year!

Best regards,
Anthony Sandberg, President OCSC Sailing,
California, US – July, 2009  “Belle Serena” and “Skookum Chuck”

(Beneteau 50 & Beneteau 40 Boat Rentals)

Photos courtesy of Larry Ledgerwood

Sailboat Charter in Vancouver - Malibu Rapids Top of Falls. - Boat Rentals Nanaimo Yacht Charters Sailboat Rentals Vancouver BC - Princess Louisa Park

Shari,

Here is the first of several photos I will send you. This was taken while waiting in the small cove North of Patrick point in Queens Reach while waiting for slack water at Malibu Rapids.

Thanks for a great holiday.We will need to contact you about a booking for next year.

Ray, – Vancouver BC July 2009 “Belle Serena”

(Beneteau 50 Yacht Rentals)

Vancouver Island Sailboat Rentals - Queens Reach

Hi Shari,

THANK YOU FOR CONTRIBUTING TO A GREAT SAILING EXPERIENCE !

We all have been talking about our wonderful sailing this summer and wanted to thank you and Nanaimo Yacht Charters for providing such a great boat and in particular the efforts you folks went to to respond to our needs and in especially your flexibility with the return date which allowed us to take in the last day of our flotilla.

This is the second time we have chartered from Nanaimo Yacht Charters. We were so satisfied with the boat and service last year that we did not even bother to contact anyone else. We weren’t disappointed!

I expect we will be chartering on the coast in the future and I can assure you that Nanaimo Yacht Charters will be the first place we will call.

Thanks again.

We wish you a successful season Martin on behalf of Kaye, Lawrence and Joyce
Alberta – June, 2009 , “Baraka Too”

(Beneteau 40 Boat Rental)


Shari,

Just a quick note (as I know you are super busy), to again thank you for the charter of Tectonic. As I mentioned in our debrief, Erin and I had a fantastic time cruising the southern Gulf Islands and are already dreaming about Desolation Sound for next summer (I ordered the Dreamspeaker guide on Amazon a few days ago…) We appreciate the professional approach you bring to the business and were highly impressed with the attention to detail that was obvious in your upkeep of Tectonic.

I have attached a few photographs from our journey.

Take care and good luck with the rest of your season,

Andrew and Erin Cole – July 2009

boat Rentals - Narvaez Bay bareboat yacht charters - Montague Harbor Sunset. - Vancouver Yacht, Nanaimo Yacht Charters

Dear Shari,

The boat was great – as I noted on the comments, very well equipped with good quality stuff (which certainly makes a difference when it comes to food prep and eating!)

Tony was a lovely man and we certainly enjoyed his company. I’ve already sent him a card with some pics he might enjoy.
Thank you again to your whole crew .. your friendly (and understanding) help was very appreciated.

Cathy (on behalf of JoAnn, Jim, and Murray .. of course!)

June 2009


“We loved Baraka and were very impressed with Nanaimo Yacht Charters and staff”

Ken McKeen and crew July 2009 “Baraka Too”

(Beneteau 40 Yacht Rental)


Hello, Lorraine and Shari,

We’ve been reviewing some photos of the summer, and thought we’d drop you a quick note.

Our time in the southern Gulf islands aboard Tectonic was definitely the high point of the summer – she was a lovely vessel and we found her to be in top-notch condition, with all the little amenities that make such a difference already sorted out. We appreciate the high level of professionalism you bring to the business as well, from the initial arrangements to the preparation of the boat and review of the region we would be sailing in – your people did a good job of both alerting us to local navigational concerns, and sharing their enthusiasm for the many wonderful places we would be visiting.

We’re happy to recommend you to anyone who might be considering chartering in your area, and look forward to the next time we can do so ourselves!

Best wishes,
Paul Newhouse and Helen Johnson

Rent a Yacht, Vancouver - Gulf Island Gulf Island Tour - Catalina 32 vancouver bareboat rental

“Nanaimo Yacht Charters were excellent to deal with. The packages for the kids, the assistance of your staff during crew changes, and the assistance with planning an itinerary was above and beyond what I’ve seen from any other charter company on the west coast. We’ll see you again soon.”

John Pedersen


” Overall I was very pleased with the boat. It is well maintained and sails great. I am also pleased with my experience with your company. Two thumbs up!”

Eric Dufresne

(Beneteau 40 sail boat rental)


Hi Shari,

Thank you so much for recommending we go up to Princess Louisa Inlet on our recent yacht charter. This was our fourth charter (third with you and Ian) and we have to say that PLI is the most awesome place we have ever seen in all our cruising. Words truly cannot describe the incredible beauty and serenity of the place. I later read that PLI and Chatter Box falls are considered a ‘holy grail’ of the cruising community, a label we think is most appropriate.

Kudos, too, to Ian for his most excellent support and your staff which were there for us from start to finish making us feel very welcome and special. I’m attaching a few photos from our trip which we will remember fondly for many years to come.

Kind Regards,
Randy & Gloria Galisky

(Bayliner 3288 Powerboat Charters )

Los Alamitos, California USA

charter vancouver charter boat vancouver - Princess Louisa Inlet Nanaimo bareboat yacht charter - Princess Louisa Inlet

 


 

 Dear Shari & Ian

This is a note to thank you for your excellent and friendly service. The

boat we chartered was just right and your staff was helpful and completely professional.

We have been kicking around the coast commercially for more than 40 years and it was great to just kick back with no particular place to go or problems to fix. It was also nice to know that had there been a problem your crew would be available on short notice to deal with it. We had a great time, the weather was perfect and there’s no more convenient base for cruising the islands than Nanaimo.

Thank You. Sharon & Peter Jonker”


Hi Shari,

Peter and I wanted to be sure that you know how much we appreciated the great service we received for our cruising holiday.

The attention to detail was obvious in all aspects of your business, and everyone we encountered really seemed to have our best interests at heart. Trevor’s knowledge and expertise was very obvious and valuable in setting us up on the boat. And you and your office staff were most accommodating We are happily letting our friends know what a great holiday we had, and fantasizing about taking out a bigger boat with a couple of friends next year, if the stars align properly.

Thank you again. Our congratulations to Nanaimo Yacht Charters for providing a friendly and quality charter service.

Every success, Laurene & Peter Coleman, “Spirit of the Winds”

(Beneteau 321 Yacht Rentals )

Special Offers Availability Ask the Expert Photo Gallery

NEWS UPDATE